A Brief Introduction

Hello,

RJ at the Door

My name is Robert J. Whaley and you may have seen me making appearances around Facebook. I fear, however, that I neglected to introduce myself. My family and I moved into our home at 624 E. Kearsley St. in Flint in the mid-1880s. I worked at the President of Citizen’s Bank for 41 years and it was under my leadership that two loans, in the amounts of $1,000 each, were approved to Mr. J. Dallas Dort and his partner Mr. William Durant to start their Carriage Company. The headquarters for their company sits at 316 W. Water Street in the grand city of Flint. You can see my bank book with these two loans in the library of my home when you visit.

photo 4(1)

I am very proud to say that my home is listed on the National Parks Service Register of Historic Places and that we are part of the Motor Cities National Heritage Area. Wonderful activities now take place in my home, which exquisitely depicts life in late nineteenth-century Flint. You can meet and quilt with friends, just as my wife Mary used to enjoy doing. Lectures take place that educate visitors on a variety of topics of history. Mary and I were both supporters of education and are thrilled that our home can be the site of further learning for community members.

RJ Historical Marker

I hope to see you around Flint in the future. It is a truly wonderful city with an active citizenry. Be sure to check out our Facebook page and website to remain current with things happening at our house. I hear that this is used far more than newspapers were in my time. And, if you are in the area stop in and call on us. If we’re busy, leave your calling card and I’ll be sure to return your call.

Until Next Time,

RJ

Leave a Reply

