Two Years and Counting

Hello everyone! Can you believe that I’ve been the Director of the Whaley House for two years now?! Last Friday, April 10, was my official two year anniversary! I wanted to use this post to look back on some of the things the Whaley House has taught me over the last two years. It’s easy to look back and count the things I’ve done for the museum (programs created, tours given, volunteers recruited, etc.), but how has the museum changed me?

1. No job is ever too small. There have been days at the museum where I’ve totally felt in my history groove, either because I’ve finished setting up an exhibit, I’ve been accepted to present at a conference, or I’ve totally rocked out a tour. Other days, however, things like taking out the garbage, cleaning the bathroom, and dusting need to occur. They are all important to the life of the museum and some days a task like dusting is really nice.

2. Creativity and resourcefulness are my bread and butter. I love that I get to spend time decorating for the holidays, searching Pinterest for Halloween ideas, and brainstorming program creation. In addition to being creative and thinking out-of-the-box, I have to be resourceful. Sure, I could spend more money to purchase decorations, or I could look up ways to create them on my own for less money. Working at a small museum means that you need to make your budget stretch as far as possible and I like to think I’m pretty good at that.

3. Public speaking has never been something from which I’ve shied away. I was in theater in high school, have taught college freshmen, and have presented at conferences, but now, being the face of the organization and leading more tours than I can count, I have definitely grown as a professional. The butterflies I used to get when a tour group came through are gone. Talking to strangers doesn’t phase me. I wasn’t even nervous to speak on the news during my interview. And I’ve also seen this fearlessness manifest itself in other aspects of my life.

I could go on, but I won’t bore you with any more details. I have enjoyed my time as Director and all of the things this position has taught me. Thank you all for continuing to support the museum and the variety of new programs, exhibits, and ideas I have brought to it. It’s been a fun two years and I can’t wait to see what year three has in store!

 

Leave a Reply

