Whaley House Museum - 624 East Kearsley Street - Flint, Michigan

Just an Intern Braving the weather !

In Uncategorized on 2014/01/10 at 3:36 pm

Hello Readers,

I am happy to say that I have finally begun my first day here at the House! It has been a long week here, as I am sure many of you can relate. I was supposed to start Monday, but Mother Nature had other plans in store! With a crazy amount of snow (18 inches) and arctic air (-33) I was able to enjoy a little more of Christmas break!

photo

Anyway, my name is Jessica Carroll but you can call me Jessie. I am 22 years old. I currently study history at the University of Michigan-Flint, with a minor in art history. My hope and dream is to one day work as a registrar in an art museum or any museum at that!

I snowboard and snowmobile in the winter, which is my favorite season of all. I also enjoy running outside in the summer and I practice yoga four times a week. I have two dogs, Lily and Kato. Lily is an Australian Cattle Dog, and Kato is a Siberian husky.

dogs

I am excited to learn more about the Whaley Historic House Museum, and work closely with Sam to understand more about the business side of running a small museum. I am planning on revamping the Museum’s website as my semester project.

Last semester, in one of my history classes. I was supposed to make an hour long thematic tour for the Whaley House. While doing research online I felt that the website could us a facelift and extra information that could bring young tech savvy individuals into the house. I plan on adding an amazing photo gallary, a link to this blog, some information about the lives of the individuals that are frequent volunteers, Sam, and the Board.

I feel that having the information at the finger tips of internet users will really help to reach different demographics.

Anyway, that’s just the plan right now! Hopefully I can accomplish this with out any problems!

Until next Friday,

Jessie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

